EIGA Members' area

Search & Find

advanced search


Result and Awards

Over the last 20 years the average work injury frequency of the member companies has decreased from 26 to 4 lost time injuries per million worked hours - a considerable improvement where EIGA has played a significant role.

In order to stimulate its members in their continuous safety efforts EIGA has introduced a number of safety awards that are handed over to the successful winners at EIGA's Annual General and Ordinary Meetings.
The most recent one is the Company Award introduced in year 2000 to recognise the company with the best safety performance recorded in each membership category.
Other awards are the EIGA Safety Awards, the Peter J. Jackson Safety Award and the Road Safety Award.

The EIGA Safety Awards

An industrial location achieving a number of consecutive years without a work injury to any of its employees, which results in lost time exceeding one working day, will receive an award for this achievement. Since the start of the award scheme in1981, awards have regularly been made to member companies at the association's annual meetings in recognising periods of accident free working, in some cases exceeding 25 years.

To top

Peter J. Jackson Safety Award

Peter Jackson held a number of technical posts during his 35 years of service with BOC.
A significant proportion of his time was spent in the Special Gases business of BOC where he was Operations Director.
Peter Jackson served on various EIGA Working Groups as member and chairman before he became Safety Director of BOC Gases Europe in 1985. In this position he was a Safety Advisory Group member for many years.

Unfortunately he died in November 1991 during his term as SAG Chairman.The Peter Jackson Award was considered to be the best way to commemorate his exceptional contribution to safety management and safety awareness in the whole EIGA organization.
The Award started in 1992 and is now given to the EIGA Member Company with the best improvement in work injury rate based on a five-year period.

To top

Road Safety Award

The EIGA member companies are controlling a fleet comprising several thousands vehicles with an annual driven distance of some 500 million kilometres. To increase further the attention to traffic safety EIGA has established an Annual Road Safety Award Scheme. Awards are made to member companies achieving the lowest annual accident frequency ratio in cylinder and bulk vehicle fleets.

To top